top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Gatsby's Curse

Updated: Apr 19, 2020




~


Her desire was

painted green.


The same

colour of her pills

and

the gemstone

she was named after,

his eyes

or

the light at

the end of the dock–

it was an unattainable colour

for an unattainable love.

 

The moss grew thick

and impenetrable

across her heart as

thorned vines shot out

from her limbs and

a sickening chlorophyll

poured into her veins.


–And, at that moment, the Purple Girl turned green

 

But the colour green

has no place

in the life of a

Girl with a Purple Soul,

for nothing beautiful has

ever come from mixing

the two colours together–

all you get is an awful

brown.


A terrible, murky brown.


–Her lungs had filled with swamp water

 

It was a love–

a longing–

that bloomed within her every spring

only to die come Autumn.


It was something that was

never meant

to last.


— Green turned grey

 

From the moment I

began chasing the green light–

from the moment I fell in love–

I started turning blue.


–You took my breath away (and I don't mean that as a compliment).

 

And because of you,

I know that each new love

that comes my way

will always hurt a little

more than the last–

a little more than the

one that came before it.

 

I should have stuck with purple.

 

She stood in front of

the bay window

in nothing but an old

t-shirt and her underwear.


She sipped from

the bottle of wine in her hands

as she stared up at the

emerald lights waltzing across

the black sky.


“Goodbye, my love,”

she whispered.


–Aurora Borealis

 

It was in her blood

to chase after things

that were faster than her–

things she was never

meant to have,

things that she was never

meant to hold.


–I was Gatsby, and he was my green light

 

I thought you were the one thing

I had to live for.


Little did I know that you would be

the very thing that killed me in the end.


--Foolish girl

 

Oh, purple boy, I know you’re

out there somewhere.


Won’t you come and find me?


Won’t you come and save me from the green,

from this curse The Great Gatsby has

bestowed upon me?


–Please?

 

Image Source

Cursed eye gif . (n.d.). [image] Available at: http://lacollectiondegifs.tumblr.com [Accessed 11 Sept. 2018].

 
10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentar


bottom of page