top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

When The Shutterbug is Squashed Beneath Your Heel


~

⚠Trigger Warning: the following poem contains religious allusions that some might find offensive⚠

~


Memories belittled by dust,

preserved with taxidermal fashion

inside an anthology

of vintage photographs.

Though,

I am aware that

"vintage"

is only a euphemism

for a possession

that was once beautiful.


Your treason

has turned all the photographs

ugly,

their corners curling up

like the spiral of a chameleon's tail.


Vivacious colours devolve

into lacklustre,

sepia tones,

blending in with

the palette of my

surrounding melancholy.


Ensnared in a dilemma:


Do I miss you?


or


Do I hate you?


(perhaps a bit of both,


but never


I love you--


not anymore.)


Apertures mewl,

bruising the gallery walls

with tears.


I frame your

betrayals

with gold and

garlands of daisies

in an attempt to soften

our past


(it never works).


These

vacant

hallways

trap your phantom footprints

beneath the cobblestone.


Was it really

such a guiltless task

to walk away from me?


Embedded

across the rungs of my spine

are the scuff marks

from where you wiped the dirt

off your boots only after

wrenching the welcome mat

from underneath me.


I have accepted that

our (fri)end(ship) was

merely transactional

to you;


I served up

all the love I had to

give

like John the Baptist's head

was served up upon a silver platter.


You feasted


while


I starved.


Yet,

full is this menagerie

of lost things.


I know

I should burn

the polaroids

in the name of closure.


Perhaps

I am just afraid there will be no art--

no poetry--

left to sculpt

from the cinders that

remain.

 

Image Source:

The pages of a book come to life gif (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://ebookslibrarydownloads.blogspot.com/2004/10/books-aesthetic-gif.html[Accessed 23 Apr. 2020]

 
12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page