top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Isn’t It Lovely (it is)




~

⚠️Trigger Warning: the following poem contains subject matter pertaining to suicide⚠️

~


Taped to the paper towel dispenser

in the school washroom,

is a copy of the lyrics to

Lovely by Billie Eilish & Khalid.


I've highlighted my favourite lines

in fluorescent pink.


thought I found a way out


may 30th:

the night I

almost

bleed myself out in the bathtub.


but you never go away


Haunted.


guess I've gotta stay now


what‘s stopping me?



isn't lovely all alone?


where have you gone?


lookin’ for a better place


I wish I was dead.


something’s on my mind


This pain


oh, I hope some day I make it out of here


what the fuck is stopping me?


tear me to pieces skin and bone


When I come back to the washroom 10 minutes later,

someone has taken the lyrics

down—


and

isn’t it lovely?

(it is)


 

Image Source:

Billie Eilish and Khalid Lovely music video gif (n.d.). [image] Available at:

https://gfycat.com/chiefhardtofinderin-alternative-darkroom-khalid-billie [Accessed 8 May. 2021].


 

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page