top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Unison



~

Sometimes,

I imagine I'm some

mourning starlet

who sings Lana Del Rey

at the club

every Saturday night.


A honeyed halo of stage light

tangles itself about

the curled labyrinth

of my hair,

sparkles gold against

my tearing irises.


My mouth parts

and the war cries begin.


In the moments

the melody offers

my voice repose,

I pound shots to the beat

of the drummer's ramblings.


The crowd applauds

my tipsiness,

their hoots of praise

shaking at the depths

of my eardrums

like an intoxicated tambourine.


My neuroticism

fascinates the masses,

I think.


Not in an

exploitive,

let's-glamourize-depression

kind of way,

but in an

it is a truth universally acknowledged

kind of way--in a

"bitchin, cuz I've been there too"

kind of way.


See,

within my little,

concocted fantasy

of stage light

and music

and vodka,

the people don't judge me

the way they do

on the outside.


Here,

I am not

melodramatic or

overly sensitive or

disposable.


Here,

my war cries sound

a little less

like death and

a little more

like poetry.


Here,

they love me

in spite of the sadness.


Here,

we share a song--

here,

they sing with me.

 

Image Source:

Lana Del Rey on stage gif .(n.d.).[image] Available at: https://giphy.com/gifs/lana-del-rey-sad-ride-LsoazQjGOHeXS [Accessed 16 Jan. 2019].

 
13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page