top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

U R A GEM

Updated: Apr 22, 2020




~

⚠Trigger Warning; the following poem contains subject matter pertaining to graphic language, substance abuse, suicidal ideation and opinions on religion that some might find offensive⚠

~


I do not deserve the name I was given-- Jade, after the (semi) precious gemstone. Girls named Jade are not supposed to

give strangers the finger

more often than

they hug their mothers

or say the word fuck more often than they tell their fathers that they love them--

are not supposed to say (or write) the word fuck

at all. And here I am, having banged out the word fuck


t̶w̶i̶c̶e̶

thrice upon my typewriter. Real charmer, aren't I?

Undressing in front

of open windows

just for the fucking


(four times.)


sake of it.



Pounding tequila shots as I grind against the moonlight, Lana Del Rey's lyrics throbbing from the speakers: "My pussy tastes like Pepsi Cola..."

Girls named Jade are not supposed to

get plastered on school nights (and tipsy before class) or listen to music

(and the music is always too loud.)

about pussy. They don't say (or write) the word

pussy

either. I've always had a potty mouth-- this is what a man from church

had told me at eight years old when I said "piss" in front of him.

Girls named Jade are supposed to go to church every Sunday-- are supposed to believe in god. Instead,

I outgrow religion by the time I am sixteen (perhaps even before then),

only ever consulting the bible when I need inspiration for some tragic poem narrating the pangs of betrayal.



(It was not Womankind

who betrayed god,

but god who betrayed Womankind


just like I have betrayed

my own name.)


The only thing I have ever truly believed in is

poetry.

Girls named Jade are not supposed to write poetry the way I write poetry-- all sex & drugs & rock n' roll tundras & hurricanes infernos & molten lava blood & violent minds suicide & broken hearts & broken hearts & broken hearts & broken hearts & purple souls--

Girls named Jade are supposed to wear their souls in the colour green.

 

Image Source:

Foliage sprouting from televisions static gif (n.d.). [image] Available at: http://www.lowgif.com/view.htmly [Accessed 22 Apr. 2020]

 
10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page