top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

They Don't Call Them Asylums Anymore (Part IV--Sweater Weather)


~

⚠️Trigger Warning: The following poem contains subject matter pertaining to self-harm and voluntary psychiatric hospitalization⚠️

~

"Can I borrow a jacket?"

I ask him in the hallway

before the start of second period.


"What for?"

His eyes narrow quizically.


"I'm going somewhere."


Through the school field;

up the hill;

past the weather-battered

chain link fence;

down the road;

across the street;



Destination:

Asylum


"Where are you going?"


"To the hospital."


"Why?"

(But something tells me

he already knows why.)


My mouth parts hesitantly--

"I'm bleeding."


I've run out of

words

to describe


all the ways


I've bled.


Haven't any metaphors to

bandage

the wounds of my past.


Nothing new to say about it,

really.


I cut myself

in the same spot

I'd always had--


on the front of my thighs,

spanning

from just below my pelvis

to a few inches above

my perpetually bruised knees.


Yes;


Clumsy girl.


Always careening

into bed posts


(and razor blades).



"I'm bleeding."



" "

(I can't remember what he says next)



"So, can I borrow your jacket?"



"All I have is this--"

he gestures

to a tight, grey button-down sweater

worn in dress code violation

over the school uniform.


"Can I borrow it?"


"It's not that cold out."



" "

(I can't remember what I say next.)



Only,

it is cold.


So cold, in fact,

that the screen of my cell phone,

which is fully charged,

blacks out.


The temperature drops

like every pinprick of blood

leaching from my veins

after having exerted myself

from the trek


through the school field;

up the hill;

past the weather-battered

chain-link fence;

down the road;

across the street;


Destination:

Asylum


When the nurse

sees that I've cut myself,

I am denied access

to my every possession.



lunch box & contents


I wonder:


do they think

I will willingly swallow

obscenely

large pieces of bread crust

in an attempt to

choke myself;


that I've poisoned my apple slices,

dooming myself to rot

like Snow White?


I am told a cafeteria lunch

will be brought to me

soon


(I am left for three hours

on an empty stomach).



backpack & contents


I wonder:


do they expect

I'll strangle myself

with my earbuds;


that I will use my phone

to live broadcast

my suicide;


that I will stab at my wrists

with dollar store pens--


Of course

now

I've got nothing to write with.


And the books--

tell me of the books

and how their poetry

shall bring me harm?


Tell me--

why is the young boy

across the hall

with the broken bone

allowed to have his book?


Why I am offered

an extra book of his to read

while I have been

denied

poetry as if it were

contraband?


Tell me how

mentally ill patients


are treated no different than

physically ill patients.


Tell me how

after admitting myself voluntarily,

I am still looked upon

as though I am criminal.


Tell me

again

what the definition of equality is.


Tell me

why

I should be punished

for being sick.



school uniform


I can't even

wear my own clothes--


instead,

I must dress up in a

revealing

hospital gown.


The only personal belongings

I am left with

are my undergarments

socks &

skin.


I think of his sweater

and how it was not

about keeping warm

but

about keeping him

close|to|me.


I think of his sweater

and how they would have

confiscated that, too.



I wonder



I wonder



I wonder



I̶ ̶f̶u̶c̶k̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶w̶o̶n̶d̶e̶r̶if ̶


this is discrimination.

 

On the way home,

I send him a text:


You seem mad at me.


He replies with a universal cliche

that never fails

to make one feel like

crap:


I'm not mad. I'm disappointed.

 

I gouge the wool

from my

eyes


(and my heartstrings).

 

Image Source:

Coraline opening scene gif (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://aminoapps.com/c/coraline/page/blog/miss-lovats-twin-doll/8X2q_reTmujLBVDRB1jPnJj1kJqqwEZ4dd/ [Accessed 25 Apr. 2020]

 
17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page