top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

They Don't Call Them Asylums Anymore (Part I-Prologue)

Updated: Aug 6, 2019


~

⚠️Trigger Warning: The following poem contains subject matter pertaining to self-harm, suicide, and involuntary psychiatric hospitalization⚠️ ~

Over the duration of high school,

there is one fear that eclipses

the daily rumination of my thoughts.


Behind sepulchred eyelids,

burn the imaginings


of wasp-needled syringes


straitjackets curling around bodies

with noose-like exactness


a padded room

absorbing brain-curdling screams

into its pink insulation.


At the time,

I was petrified that my newly-discovered

flirtation with self-harm

would land me a permanent stay in an asylum.


The rational part of me knew

that they don't call them

asylums anymore.


The rational part of me knew

there would be no syringes

or straitjackets

or pink, padded rooms.


It was the principle


If it was decided that I was

"an immediate risk to myself"--

a decision that would

incorporate the voices

of the people who barely knew me

but deny me my own voice--

I would be admitted

to a psychiatric ward,

and it would be against my will.


It wouldn't matter

if it was at the Children's Hospital or not--

It wouldn't matter if the walls

were coated with those

sickeningly bright colours

or if there was an Xbox

in the common area.


You can dress up a prison cell

as vibrant as you'd like.

But, by principle,

it's still a prison cell.


When they strip you

of your clothes,

and force you into

their bleak hospital gowns,

they also strip you

of your independence.


(You aren't even allowed

to wear your school cardigan,

the one whose soft, green fabric

you nestle against your fingertips

when you need comforting.


What makes you think

you can leave when you want to?)


See,

doc keeps ya locked up

until he's snuffed the

crazy outta you.


They don't like using

the word

crazy

anymore, either.


So,

like the prison cell,

they play dress up

with your "crazy",

draping it in euphemisms like


unstable.


erratic.


incapacitated.


suicidal--


Once this word is used to label you,

you are never quite able to

abandon its connotation of

madness--

a reputation of inferiority.


And everyone believes

that they are only doing what's best for you,

that hospitalization is the only thing

that will save you from yourself,

when, in fact, it's the ultimatums

and the countless visits to the ER

and the way you are treated--

like a poor bitch lying in wait

to be put down--

that destroys you.


The memories still

bleed fresh most nights.


I seethe at

the mistreatment and

the betrayal and

the destruction

like an army of bees

whose hive has been kicked in,

a snow-globe convulsing

between careless hands.


I was kinder

before they stole away

the last moon-slivers of hope

I held between heart and ribs,

between lips and flower petals.


The nectar has been

exorcised from my soul,

leaving only infestation

behind.



(and there is no escaping this swarm)

 

Image Source:

Hospital bed burning gif (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://www.pinterest.ph/pin/414190496955945816/ [Accessed 29 Jul. 2019].

 
21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page