top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

The Tulips & Their Tombs

Updated: Jun 15, 2020



The storm

decapitated

the few tulip heads

that were brave enough

to blossom this April.

Tulips are not like

the other flowers--

they bloom only once a year.


When I dream of them,

their soft, yellow mouths console me.


From the massacre,

I am taught that

the labours of time

will one day heal me

like it will heal the tulips

come next spring--


heal me

in all the ways I deserve


(I know this now).


But like the tulips,

I must be patient.


I scatter their petals

like bread crumbs

across my mewling soul

in the hopes that

I too

will find my way back

to someplace softer.

 

Image Source:

Yellow bokeh gif (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://weheartit.com/entry/322914848 [Accessed 11 Jun. 2020]

 
11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page