top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

The Self Harm Diaries (volume i ~ prologue)

Updated: Aug 27, 2020



~

⚠Trigger Warning; the following poem contains subject matter pertaining to self-harm ⚠

~


In the beginning,


I used Bic pen caps

safety pins

jagged remnants of plastic

salvaged from a broken mechanical pencil

the serrated edge

of a paper towel dispenser--


gateways to razors

and Exacto knives.


Objects that were too dull

to split skin

but were still sharp enough

to leave their mark--

puffy, red scratches

accompanied by the

occasional pearl of blood,

dark rarities

that blossomed in rosy drops

upon the dominion of my flesh.


At the time,

I deemed my attempts

at self-harming

pathetic substitutions,

euphemisms in lieu of

the real thing:


deep lacerations from which

reservoirs of Crimson

were birthed.


Sometimes,

I still believe this,

even though it is

terribly unkind

to abbreviate my experience.


If my ninth grade

guidance counsellor

were to read this,

she would tell me that

it's not about the

depth of the wound,

or the means by which

the wound was acquired, but

rather

the existence of the wound


(the existence of the hurting).

 
 

Image Source:

Blue girl and muddled thoughts gif (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://www.buzzfeed.com/nikitadeshpande/the-d-word [Accessed 29 Jan 2020].

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page