top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

The Poem is Mightier than the Pervert

Updated: Jul 11, 2020



~


⚠️Trigger Warning: The following poem contains subject matter pertaining to sexual harassment ⚠️


~

Wearing mirrored sunglasses

is not a fashion statement

but a statement of

perversion.


Did you think

they would bury

your sinful leer?


That I would not

catch you staring at me

as I made my way

through the parking lot?


That I would happen upon

my own

fearfully contorted

reflection

instead of your

girl-hungry glare?


That I would be silent?


For

silence

is a language

I discarded long ago.


Later,

after blowing me

an array of kisses

through yellowing teeth,

you yell from

your car window

and accuse me of

staring first


when we both know

I just stared

back,

my eyes arranged into dog fights.


Lick your lips

at me

like I am prey

and you will

unveil both the

She-Beast

and her bite.


I will not be stalked--


Instead,

I stalk away,

spitting the word

"creep"

over my shoulder

like it is salt.


Behind me,

comes the snicker

of a hyena--


but I know

that hyenas

snicker even when they

have been

wounded.


I ensnare you

in these words

like the animal

you are.


Remember.


my poetry cuts deeper

than the teeth

of any carnivore.


Remember--


the Poem is

mightier

than the


pervert.

 

Image Source:

xxyyxx gif, smoke shrouding woman in fox mask (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://gfycat.com/polishedgoldendarklingbeetle [Accessed 4 Jul. 2020]

 
10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page