top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

The Dead Sea (Floating)



~

⚠Trigger Warning; the following poem contains subject matter pertaining to suicide and self-harm ⚠


~

May 30th, 2018


These wayward breaths

lead me to

the Dead Sea.


"This is where you belong;"

whisper the spirits

of The Deep--

"this is where all

broken things

come to die."


The Dead Sea

is my bathtub-

ramshackle tiles,

contorted shower rod

bowing under the weight

of the fraying curtain.


The water sprints

in a scalding race

from the tap,

its gurgling clamour

veiling the sound

of Billie Eilish

playing on the speaker

(isn't it lovely all alone?)


I stare at the Exacto Knife

clutched between my

water-pruned fingertips.


And

the moment you pick

up a knife instead of a

shoddy razor blade

from a dollar store

pencil sharpener,

you know you've

hit rock bottom

(did you know

the Dead Sea is

the lowest

point on earth?;

have you ever experienced

the remarkable plummet

of that kind of low?)


I trace the patterns

of invisible

constellations

on the terrain of

my flesh;

at first,

I am too afraid

to press down

but when I do--

my god,

when I do--

I draw blood

with the same artistry

borne from a

painter's hand,

each laceration

a brush stroke closer

to someplace beyond this

sadness.

 

Image Source:

Woman walking into the ocean gif (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://weheartit.com/entry/187360808 [Accessed 18 Feb. 2019].

 
16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page