top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Slave of the Night



~

The night

breathes down the back of my neck

in tendrils of air that smell

of Mexican cigars

and something like copper

(something like blood).


Cold bedsheets cling to

the perspiration on my body,

stick to me like a band-aid.

Come morning,

it will hurt

to peel them off--

it will hurt to get out of bed

(perpetual exhaustion

will do that

to a girl).


A clock prowls in the

corner of the room,

pondering the hours

of sleep that have evaded me

with every hopeless tick

of its gnarled hands.


Lost time adheres to

the skin beneath my eyes–

black as the darkness

that threatensto devour me.


From somewhere

within the abysmal black

she glares at me menacingly,

her red eyes smouldering

in the opaqueness,

yellow fangs bearing down on me

like the bars of a prison cell.

for I am her captive–

I am a slave of The Night.

 

Image Source:

Candle wax dripping on hand gif . (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://weheartit.com/entry/109209773[Accessed 11 Sept. 2018].

 
6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page