top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Requiem for Wonderland (Drink Me)



~


I take a pill each morning--

"to keep the madness away,"

declared the doctor,

her tone clinically nonchalant

as she handed to me

a prescription for

small, white tablets

that leave a bitter chalkiness

in your mouth

when you've left them

on your tongue

for too long

before swallowing.


But

there is only so much

modern-day pharmaceuticals

can remedy.


Sometimes,

I can still hear her,

you know--

sweet.

lost.

mad

Alice

scratching at the

tessellated patch-work

of my psyche.


I can still feel her

as my fingertips flit

across the liquor bottle--

"Drink Me,"

it murmurs.


Curiouser

&

curiouser

I become with

every shot.


When the room

starts lurching,

when I am too

dizzy to stand,

I close my eyes only

to find that the world

is still spinning.


Or perhaps

I am just falling.


Yes,


D

O

W

N


the rabbit hole

I go.


And, as I plummet,

the phosphenes of colour

behind my eyes

transmute into the most

peculiar images:

a mercury-tainted top hat

encompassing the harlequin

countenance of a man

as crazed as I;

the trundling wings

of a Jabberwock

and the heaving snout

of a Bandersnatch;

a pocket watch,

its face lustrous and

encrusted with Jadestone--

"Time. It's time!"

the clock chimes.


"Time for what?"

exclaims the girl

in the periwinkle petticoat

(she appears simultaneously

excited and terrified

by the impending chaos).


"Bloodshed,"

reckons the squire

of the pocket watch--

the March Hare,

a grisly little thing

in a tattered waist jacket.


"Bloodshed, bloodshed,

off with her head!"


And that girl in periwinkle?


Why that girl is me,

and the Queen of Wonderland

has dealt her cards--

she'd like my head

(and my heart).


But

sweet.

lost.

mad

Alice

has a trick of

her own to deal--

a Wild Card

tucked beneath her sleeve.


She is capable of imagining

at least six impossible things

before the high is over,

you know.

All it takes is a

simple flutter

of an eyelash

and then,

gripped between

her fingers,

appears a substance

foreign to Wonderland--

rum.


"Bottoms up--

with this,

I shan't feel a thing,"

she surrenders.


"What?"

roars the queen

upon the arrival.

"You will not fight?

Why, you must be mad!"


"Haven't you heard?"

replied Alice.

"All the best people are--

Cheers."

 

Image Source:

Drink Me, Alice in Wonderland gif (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://giphy.com/gifs/art-hoppip-jxE7e9PHN2aFa2Bs [Accessed 6 Oct. 2018].

 
17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page