top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

My Secrets and I Have Always Been On the Same Page


~


⚠Trigger Warning; the following poem contains subject matter pertaining to self-harm⚠

~

Over the years,

I have cultivated

many an intriguing

hiding spot for my sorrows--

concealed inside of

my phone case;

pressed between

the mattress and the box spring;

wrapped in paper towel

and tucked trepidatiously

beneath my bra strap.


But of them all,

my favourite

was the book--

some fantasy novel

whose name I can't recall,

hollowed out with

a pair of scissors

and a ballpoint pen

to make room

for the razor blade.


It was a secret

that had authored

an entirely new meaning

of paper cuts.


In that moment,

I couldn't have felt

more like a tortured artist.


I couldn't have felt

more like a

poet.

 
 

Image Source:

Butterfly among discarded pages gif (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://giphy.com/gifs/movie-butterfly-bright-star-1j4JvhXNBXLMc [Accessed 15 May. 2019].

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page