top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Mary, Queen of Scots




~

"No more tears now; I will think about revenge."

-- Mary, Queen of Scots

~

Someone once told me that

I have the eyes of a Queen,

that they have known sorrow

in this life and in the last.


I think I must have shared

a heart with

Mary, Queen of Scots,

for I too have experienced

profound betrayal,

one that has shackled itself

to my being so violently,

that my soul has turned

purple with contusion.


Tell me--have you no shame?


Will you betray your Queen?


Will you exclude her

from your most sacred gatherings

of friendship and empathy?


Will you speak of her

most intimate secrets?


Will you befriend her foes?


Will you defile her name

in your own frivolous writings?


Will you accuse her of treason

so as to distract from

your own mutinous crimes?


My beloved companions,

my brothers and sisters--

will you attempt to commit

this heinous sin of sororicide

against the woman

who loved you so generously

(so poetically)?


I entreat--

will you?


(yet, I know you already have).


But though my Queendom

may be small,

it is not insignificant,

for it is vast in ways

incomprehensible to your

selfish minds--

its kindness and poetry

are infinite,

both of which you

have taken gross advantage of.


And though my Queendom

may crumble at your hands,

it shall never fall;

with stanzas

mighty and passionate

I will rebuild without you.


You have overstayed

your welcome here.

(perhaps you never belonged

in the first place).


There was once a time

when you vowed to protect

your Queen

and, now, all I've got

to show for it

is a broken pinkie

and the scuff of footprints

across my spine.


What shall it be next?


My head upon a silver platter?


No.


I was not reborn

only so my reign should

be sullied by these

treacherous sadists

I once called "friends".


It is my head

you want,

but this time,

it is yours I shall have.

 

Image Source:

Billie Eilish- You Should See Me In a Crown (audio) gif (8 Aug. 2018). [image] Available at: https://gfycat.com/severeesteemedicelandgull [Accessed 12 Jan. 2019].

 
11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page