top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

I, Ophelia (Part One --The Mermaid)

Updated: May 31, 2019



~


I. The Mermaid


I am six years old,

and obsessed with Ariel

from The Little Mermaid,

She is, by far,

my favourite Disney Princess.


I want to be exactly like her.


Hair billowing in red swirls

around a heart-shaped face

and eyes so blue they put the very

ocean to shame;

(my sister has blue eyes too, you know,

and, to this day, I still envy her,

for her eyes are the loveliest

characteristic of her Beauty--

and believe me, there are many);

purple clam shells vibrant

against porcelain-doll skin

and fully blossomed breasts;

(in three years from now,

I will begin

to grow boobs--

elementary-school style,

over-ripe.

B Cups going on C cups,

fated to become D Cups,

plum-sized

in comparison to the

budding mosquito bites of

my fellow classmates.

Barely a child,

womanhood threatens

to sexualize my girlish body

before I truly understand

what sexualization is);

fins cutting through the water

in all of their

green, iridescent glory.

(little did I know that,

as I grew older,

"cutting" would adopt

a far more sinister meaning

in the context of my life).


But,

despite my admiration for Ariel,

I fail to understand her desire

to abandon her

under-sea rendezvous

sunken treasures,

oceanic melodies

to be where the people are.


This lack of approval I foster

exists due to the fact that I am

a firm believer of the magic

the aquatic realm

(and Disney)

has to offer.


To this day,

I maintain my stance--

that Ariel had been terribly wrong

in the choices she made--

but I have become cognizant of

different (and better) reasons

to argue my position;

after all,

and as a cartoon crab

had so wisely declared once,

"The human world--

it's a mess."

 

Image Source:

Dark Ariel gif (n.d). [image] Available at: https://giphy.com/gifs/aqgqu2rryKB5C?utm_source=media-link&utm_medium=landing&utm_campaign=Media%20Links&utm_term=https://www.pinterest.ca/ [Accessed 5 Sept. 2018].

 
18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page