top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

I, Ophelia (Part Five--Ethereal)

Updated: Feb 4, 2020




~


V. Ethereal


Maybe being drunk

is the closest I will

ever get to zero gravity--

to walking on the moon.


My fingers curled around

the neck of a liquor bottle,

I wander to my bedroom window

as a tipsy weightlessness settles

amongst my limbs

(and my thoughts).


Swaying slightly,

I part the curtains and,

in my intoxicated stupor,

search for Polaris in the night sky,

point to it,

press a clumsy hand to the glass,

convince myself that

I have captured the star,

and all the omniscient power

it possesses,

beneath my fingertips.


Starlight,


{lips pant--

inebriated,

heavy}


star bright,


{my breath appears a catalyst

as the windowpane glazes over

in an impenetrable paroxysm of fog}


first star I see tonight,


{I take a swig,

raise the bottle--

a toast

to the cosmos}


I wish I may,


{Lashes meet in

silent matrimony}


I wish I might,


{Behind closed, desperate eyes,

ribbons of colour dance

towards me in a disoriented jig}


have this wish I wish tonight--


to be

obliterated by the very galaxy

that birthed

these grieving bones

and this tumultuous heart.


Because only then--

as the Gods paint the Night

with the innards of my soul,

acrylic purples

churning against the blackness--

will I become what I

have always dreamed

of becoming:


Lovely.


Ethereal.

 

Image Source:

Galaxy in a mason jar gif . (n.d.). [image] Available at:https://weheartit.com/entry/293984619Accessed 24 Sept. 2018].

 
10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page