top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Her Royal Sadness



~


I always look

my most beautiful

when I cry;

the bags under my eyes

burn as poignantly

as waning crescents,

lips plump as they quiver

with the same multitudes

of Artemis' bowstring ,

chest heave-hoeing

against the tempered

vessel of my soul.


I wear sadness

remarkably well,

you know.


Like black lipstick.

or short hair.

or poetry.


(Cleopatra's got nothing on me, baby)


My reflection tessellates

against the swell of my tears,

evolves into

kaleidoscopic fractals

of smouldering thrones

and howling queens--

into images most

strange and terrible.


(But, oh, how I welcome them)


A delicate curtsy of words

respires from my mouth,

forms upon my tongue

its homage--

hail thy shattered kingdom

hail thy shattered kingdom

hail thy shattered kingdom.

 

Image Source: Whimsical woman dancing in the nude gif (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://wifflegif.com/gifs/173616-black-and-white-white-dress-gif [Accessed 31 Dec. 2018].

 
13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page