top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Grave Robbers



~

⚠️Trigger Warning: The following poem contains subject matter pertaining to self-harm and suicidal ideation⚠️

~


When I told them

I felt like

dying,


they backed

out of my life


as though it were a

graveyard

at Witching Hour;


each facet on my spine

a willing tombstone;


blood scrawled upon

my wrists

like epitaphs;


every footstep

echoed

by the scraping of a shovel.


They were prepared

to bury me

even when I was still alive.


Imaginary funeral bells

rung in their ears


until the diminuendo

of my voice

faded

into the last note

of swan song,



My Final words:


don’t leave me


lost


amidst the cemetery’s


tolling.

 

Image Source:

Black and white graveyard gif. [image] Available at: http://www.lowgif.com/view.html.[Accessed 23 Jan. 2021]

 
11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page