top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Girl Out of Water


~

⚠Trigger Warning; the following poem contains subject matter pertaining to self-harm ⚠

~


My body

/splits/

the water

the way my skin splits

when I feel lost;

when chasms are summoned

beneath the metallic glisten

of a razor blade

as it slashes back and forth

like a catfish's tale.


Along the surface,

a dark laceration materializes

swallowing me upon.

impact.


It takes three seconds

before I resurface.


But underwater,

time is dormant

and three seconds

is an eternity

according to our own

concepts of time.


one mississippi . . .


Beneath the currents,

an eclipse of blue

froths around me

like the carbonated bubbles

of cherry cola--


I drink.


Open-mouthed,

brine whistling

through my teeth,

settling between gnashing enamel.


I do not do this on purpose

(only subconsciously).

two mississippi . . .


And

(subconscisouly)

my arms and legs

anchor in place,

rendering themselves stationary

helpless.

amidst the tide.


I am afraid--

of course,

I am afraid--

but found within my panic

are nuances of curious bewilderment.


three mississippi--


I emerge,

water swimming violently

in my nose,

pale breasts having escaped

the iridescent clamshells

of my swimsuit.


I am undressed

at the hands of the sea.


She knows me well

(oh so intimate.)


With salt and squid ink

foaming at her tongue,

she whispers a truth

I fail to comprehend

into my waterlogged ears:


"child,

it has always been your first instinct to drown.


And,

someday,

drowned you shall be."

 

Image Source:

Dvornikova, Alexandra. “Giphy .” Giphy , https://giphy.com/gifs/water-illustrated-gif-dark-forest-1Qmu5IfJ3E8KfLaaRe.

 
10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page