top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Cheers at Gunpoint



~


For the longest time,

I would wonder

why,

on the mere cusp of 17,

I began to drink.


I'd always assumed it

was because I was so

sad.


But now,

while I'm sure that

sadness was most certainly

a contributing force,

I don't think

it was the true perpetrator.


See,

all the other girls

in my grade were always off

fucking or getting high

or embarking on whatever

risque adventures

they'd broadcast on Snapchat

the next morning.


I think all I ever wanted

was a scandal to call my own.


I wanted to prove

something to myself--

that,

no matter what

people said about me,

I could be bad too.


~


This one time,

I bought a squirt gun

from the dollar store.


I wanted to get drunk

the way I'd watched

Cassie from Skins

get drunk

in this one episode.


So,

I filled up my gun

with vodka

before holstering it

against my tongue.


Then,

I pulled the trigger.

 

Image Source:

Lana Del Rey Drinking gif (n.d.). [image] Available athttps://imgur.com/gallery/0F92P/comment/13064814 [Accessed 26 Apr. 2019].

 
15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page