top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Beast of Burden



~


No boy will ever

want to fuck me


if I forget

to put on makeup

in the mornings

lips red as Eve's forbidden fruit

succulent enough to

bite

tongue

devour

go down

cuz my nose don't

look so My-Big-Fat-Greek-Wedding

mountainous-side-profile

when it's caked in highlighter


if I have short hair

because short hair means

I'll look too masculine

in the ninth grade I

had a pixie cut

faith

trust

pixie dust

I could feel

my light burning out



(I never did believe in myself)


if I'm not thin

starve

binge

purge

two finger diet

VSCO diet

have you seen

the lovely girls

on the internet

in their

tight bodysuits

Coke Zero

figures

MVP

VIP

they'll get first access

to his cock



if I'm a prude

cuz how will anyone know

what you've really

got to flaunt

when you have to wear

a uniform to school

frumpy plaid kilt

white polo shirt

every button a barrier

like the notches

on his belt

tie coiled

a noose

around your neck

every casual day

I wear fishnet stockings

vixen necklines

with push up bras

even though

I'm already a D

cuz I gotta get that D

gotta compensate

for being a virgin somehow





if I don't shave my

legs

stomach

pussy

three days before high school graduation

I bought a thong

and got my first Brazilian wax

even though I didn't have

still don't have

a boyfriend

but I wanted him

to be my boyfriend

thought I should be prepared

thought maybe when he saw me

clad in

cleavage

periwinkle

floor-length gown

blue Converse peeking out

from underneath the tulle

he'd call me his

Belle of the Ball

that he'd

take me

fuck me


love me


but how could any boy

ever love me

in all of my

warped-perspective

grief-possessive

passive-aggressive

self-obsessive

manic-depressive

glory



how could any boy

ever love me

after reading

this poem?

 

Image Source:

Lana del Rey screaming gif (n.d.). [image] Available at:https://gifer.com/en/BlHW [Accessed 23 Dec. 2018].

 
13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page