top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Baggage Claim

Updated: Jun 12, 2021


~


When you tell me to

leave my baggage at the door,


you imply that my feelings

do not matter.


That my sadness

is a burden.


because it makes me less productive?


because it makes you uncomfortable?


If I had walked into the room

with a broken arm,

you would not have forced me

to remove my limb from its sling.


You would not have forced me

to play pretend like it didn't

hurt

for your sake


(because that would just be selfish, no?)


You would sign my cast

and wish me well.


I guess it's different

when it's the mind that's sick

and not the body.


Your compassion is selective;

you only offer it

if it’s convenient for you.




When you tell someone to

leave their baggage at the door,

you are conditioning them

to adopt unhealthy habits

that cause undue harm

to their mental state.



I was told to

leave my baggage at the door

so many fucking times,

that I adopted the unfortunate act

of turning off my feelings

whenever life got tough.


I had to freeze myself over

just to please you.


just to survive.


just to protect myself from

the cruelty &


the discrimination.


And when finally I thawed,

I couldn’t help but feel

everything

all at once.


I was forced to

suppress my emotions

when I should have been encouraged to


accept.

validate.

heal.

from them

as they came to me.


In consequence,

my worst emotions had collected

in the dark attic of my mind

like stormwater—


in the beginning,

unnoticeable


until the raindrops

amassed to the point

of deluge


and


my brain runneth over


the ensuing mental anguish


seemingly incurable.


I was never taught how

to tread this type of despair

no;


instead,

I was taught to

leave my baggage at the door


(and so I drowned).


 

Image Source:


The Sea at Your Door gif (n.d.). [image] Available at:

 
14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page