top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Sycophant (To Dorian Gray)

Updated: Jul 8, 2019



~


Please keep in mind that any similarities to Oscar Wilde’s own writing in The Picture of Dorian Gray present within this piece are purely intentional; I have purposely integrated Wilde’s quotes into this flash poetry series in order to convey a meaningful connection to the text.


I hope you enjoy!

 

I have always been

inexplicably attracted to

boys like you.


(And I prefer boys over men,

for men have always been

far too cautious for my liking).

I suppose you could say

that you are my type:


Defiant.


Hedonistic.


Reckless.


And maybe that is exactly what I need

cuz I think I could learn

a thing or two

from someone as

treacherous as yourself.


So tell me,

my dear Dorian Gray–

won’t you teach me how to

behave badly

for once?


Lord Henry’s Legacy

 

Won’t you teach a girl t

o indulge in every

wonderfully immoral sensation

this life has to offer?


–Cure my soul by means of the senses

 

And,

for these sensations,

I shall pay you in poetry.


Of course,

I shall not rhyme.


I would not want

you to think me

inferior,

after all.

 

I wish to feel

the exquisiteness of sin

and the tragedy of its consequences.


–Jolie laide

 

So,

perhaps then,

you can teach me to be someone

other than myself tonight–

for I have grown dreadfully tired

of the girl that I am.

A girl who is so monotonously good.

 

He emerges,

scales adorned with

gleaming beads of jacinth

and spiralling ribbons of gold.


His mouth drips with

a dark, tantalizing nectar

and from his nostrils billow

the intoxicating smoke of Opium.


The dense foliage

from which he materializes

is draped in fruit–

scarlet apples of incredible voluptuousness,

pomegranates ripe with juices.


With a flick of his tongue,

he whispers,

“Choose your poison, darling.”


–Eden

 

I choose my friends

for their good looks;

my acquaintances

for their good characters;

my enemies

for their good intellects;

and, most importantly,

my lovers for their

(ravishing)

sense of immorality.

 

And it is here that

Brimstone

and

Lilac Blossom

shall unite,

poetically intertwined

with a most paradoxical

type of beauty.


–Destroy the heaven in me

 

I would gladly fall from grace with you.

 

My Opium Dream,

show me how to be indifferent

to the troubles of this world.


Take me away to some high place

clouded with a thick blue haze,

a place laced with narcotic forgetfulness.


–Sedated by your corruption

 

Cut the strings that tether me to

morality–

to goodness,

for it is my goodness alone

that has victimized me.


–Their footprints embedded on my spine

 

They say there is no such thing as an immoral book, (there is only immoral poetry).

 

Image Source:

Dorian Gray sipping tea gif (n.d). [image] Available at: https://giphy.com/search/Dorian-gray [Accessed 25 Jul. 2018].

 
3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page