top of page
  • Writer's pictureYours Truly

Go To Bed, Mama



~

⚠️Trigger Warning: The following poem contains subject matter pertaining to substance abuse⚠️

~


Oh mama,

won’t ya go to bed?


See I’m needing my fix–


a little shot of something

strong

to make all the


itty


bitty


baddie


thoughts go away.



You've got to sleep,

mama


cuz if you don’t,

then I won’t--


cuz you’re blocking my way to

the liquor cabinet,

mama.


Don’t ya love me,

mama?


Don't ya want what's

best

for me,

Mama?

Go to bed--


Go to bed mama!



Your baby girl's feeling

sad.


Your baby girl needs her pacifier–

her binky doused in moonshine

to lull her unconscious—


to lovely

Bacardi dreams.



Just--



go


to


bed,


mama.



You asleep yet,

mama?



Mama?



I can hear you snoring now,

mama.


I'm crawling over

to the kitchen now,

mama


and you should've

baby-proofed when ya

had the chance,

mama


cuz I'm reaching

for the top shelf now,

mama.


I've learned how to walk now,

mama.


Walking

will get me where

I want to go faster

than crawling will


and I want to go to sleep too,

mama.



So


I tuck myself in


curl


my fist around the bottle

like I used to curl

my fist around your pinky finger

when I was just a babe,

mama


and


I close my eyes,

mama


and


and


and---


~


Mama?


Mama,

I can explain.


Please just listen to me,

mama!


Mama!


I thought you were asleep,

mama.

 

Image Source:

Drunk girl stumbling drunk through the hallway [image] Available at: https://gfycat.com/repulsivetautbluewhale.[Accessed 2 Feb. 2021]

 
16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page